Tags

One of my favorite devotions of the Catholic Church is to the Sacred Heart of Jesus. There is something so comforting and beautiful in knowing His heart is full of such an abundance of mercy and love for us. I cannot do justice to the history of the Sacred Heart devotion, but you can read more about it here. Around 1673 Jesus appeared to St. Margaret Mary Alacoque (feast day October 17th) and revealed the following promises to her for those who devoted themselves to His Sacred Heart:

1. I will give them all the graces necessary for their state of life.
2. I will give peace in their families.
3. I will console them in all their troubles.
4. I will be their refuge in life and especially in death.
5. I will abundantly bless all their undertakings.
6. Sinners shall find in my Heart the source and infinite ocean of mercy.
7. Tepid souls shall become fervent.
8. Fervent souls shall rise speedily to great perfection.
9. I will bless those places wherein the image of
My Sacred Heart shall be exposed and venerated.
10. I will give to priests the power to touch the most hardened hearts.
11. Persons who propagate this devotion shall
have their names eternally written in my Heart.
12. In the excess of the mercy of my Heart, I promise you that my all powerful love will grant to all those who will receive Communion on the First Fridays, for nine consecutive months, the grace of final repentance: they will not die in my displeasure, nor without receiving the sacraments; and my Heart will be their secure refuge in that last hour.

The first one truly makes me want to cry. It’s just so reassuring to know God is there with me pouring out the graces I need for my work, for my life as wife and mother, for my everyday duties and encounters with others.

I love this picture of St. MM from the Chapel of the Visitation in Paray-le-Monial, France.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Jesus to St. MM:

"Behold the Heart which has so loved men that
               it has spared nothing, even to exhausting and
               consuming Itself, in order to testify Its
               love; and in return, I receive from the
               greater part only ingratitude, by their
               irreverence and sacrilege, and by the
               coldness and contempt they have for Me in
               this Sacrament of Love. But what I feel most
               keenly is that it is hearts which are
               consecrated to Me, that treat Me thus.
               Therefore, I ask of you that the Friday after
               the Octave of Corpus Christi be set apart for
               a special Feast to honor My Heart, by
               communicating on that day, and making
               reparation to It by a solemn act, in order to
               make amends for the indignities which It has
               received during the time It has been exposed
               on the altars. I promise you that My Heart
               shall expand Itself to shed in abundance the
               influence of Its Divine Love upon those who
               shall thus honor It, and cause It to be
               honored."
