Tags

,

So Lent is now upon us.

I always struggle to think of meatless meals come days of abstinence. This is so pathetic, but I am so used to cooking with chicken, beef, bacon (on occasion), etc. that I start to think, “I could make that recipe with ground turkey or turkey sausage instead for Friday.” WRONG. I guess I just think so little of turkey that I consider it a non-meat (except, of course, on Thanksgiving). So off I go to my scads of cookbooks begging to be used, or the handy internet to peruse for any and all recipes sans meat. Here are a few I’ve come across:

This Salmon recipe is from my husband’s family, and is oh so tasty.

1/2 cup honey

1 TBSP soy sauce

1/4 cup butter

Melt all together

Make foiled boat, put salmon in and dump above mixture all over.

On top of this sprinkle some parm. cheese, small amount lemon pepper, and seasoning salt.

Put in the oven @350 for 15-20 min. 

…………

Here’s a super quick and easy one I found on Allrecipes for Tilapia.  As Ina Garten always says, “It’s REALLY good.”

…………

A recipe for meatless BLTs? I’m skeptical, though it sounds/ looks intriguing…

Any other meatless ideas? Have a holy and blessed Lent!

