Tags

, ,

Not that I believe I am full of sage advice to impart from my twenty-plus years of life, but I just thought I’d share some quotes and idioms that I have taken to heart over the years. I did not come up with any of these on my own and I’m sure some have been heard before, but here we go:

1. “The best compliment you can pay someone is to acknowledge their existence. To let them know, ‘It is good that you exist.'” –I heard this from a priest @ FUS and it has stayed with me ever since. This is something I struggle with, as it is just so much easier for me to go about my day without taking the time to say “Hi” or smile at people who I encounter.

2. “Rome was not built in a day.” I’ve heard this phrase many times over the years but especially took it to heart when my Grandpa said it to me after I was sharing with him my struggles as a new nurse.

3. “The need is not the call.” From a book by a favorite Christian author of mine. (Christy Miller series anyone?)

4. “Let your yes mean yes, and your no mean no.” I think this is derived from the Bible (?) but I first heard it in college.

5.“Whatever God wants.”  -St. Gianna

6.  “Our heavenly Father is extravagant with His children sometimes…I think we can honor Him best by receiving these gifts and letting ourselves overflow with gratefulness.” -Robin Jones Gunn

7. “If you look for the bad in people expecting to find it, you surely will.” –Abe Lincoln is credited with this, but I first heard it in Pollyanna. (Let’s hear it for good old school Disney flicks!)

Visit Jen at Conversion Diary for more quick takes!

