Tags

, ,

The bakery aisle is hands down my favorite place in the grocery store (especially Wegmans!). Sometimes I force myself to avoid it completely since I am a complete carbaholic, and easily fall prey to all of the freshly baked bagels, muffins, and loaves of bread screaming for me to take them home. Another way I avoid running up our grocery bill with store-bought sweet-goodness (but not the body poundage) is to tell myself to bake something at home. Here’s what I’ve whipped up in the kitchen this week:

The Pioneer Woman’s Flat Apple Pie (I just use store-bought pie crust)

pie2

Source

aaand these amazing Dark Chocolate Shortbread Cookies (came across the recipe on the ever amazing Pinterest). I cannot say “no” to anything ultra chocolaty.

chocolate

Source

I’ve never made shortbread cookies before but found them to be not overly complicated, and I love the pie recipe! For some reason I feel it’s simpler than making a true apple pie, but maybe that’s just me. Any go-to or good recipes you love?

