Tags

Quiches used to intimidate me a lot. I’m not sure why, but I just imagined them to be so complex and complicated, so I just stuck to egg scrambles as far as egg “dishes” were concerned. Recently I decided to expand my breakfast dish horizons and make a quiche. Let me tell you, they are so good and definitely easy. Granted, I don’t do the whole make my own crust bit, so that takes off a lot of the pressure. My Aunt’s recipe for Swiss Cheese & Asparagus Quiche is by far my fav, and I’ve actually made it more for dinner than breakfast- it’s either that or my lazy-mood go-to: frozen pizza (which we have far too often). One thing I love about this recipe is that you just throw everything in the blender & go to town. Also, it calls for frozen asparagus and I’ve found a brand that steams in the bag in the microwave (doesn’t come out very appetizing but hey- you’re blending it). Here’s the recipe below:

Ingredients

  • 1 10-inch unbaked pie shell
  • 10 oz Package frozen cut asparagus
  • 1 1/2 Cups Heavy cream
  • 2 Eggs
  • 1/4 tsp Nutmeg
  • 1 tsp Salt
  • 2 1/4 Cups Coarsely grated natural swiss cheese
  • 1 Tbsp Grated onion (I use dried & minced)

Directions

  1. Cook asparagus according to package directions. Drain thoroughly on paper towels and remove excess moisture. Place in blender with cream, eggs, nutmeg, onion and salt. Blend on high speed 1 minute or until smooth. Stir in 1 1/2 cups grated Swiss cheese to mix well. Pour into pastry shell and bake at 375 for 35 minutes. May take a few minutes longer depending on how moist asparagus is. Check with a silver knife inserted in the center. When done, sprinkle remaining grated cheese on top and return to oven for 2-3 minutes to melt cheese. Serve warm, not hot. Makes 6 servings.

*As a short-cut I just throw all the cheese in the mix at once instead of adding some at the end.

Enjoy!

DSC_2749

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

