Tags

, , , , ,

I was typing these up for Friday Quick Takes but our internet was on the fritz, so consider these…I don’t know…things to stave off a case of the Mondays.

I mentioned that I want to try to do more summery things, and last week I proudly checked one off my list: homemade ice pops.

Homemade alright- straight from a bottle of juice to the freezer. ;)

Homemade alright- straight from a bottle of juice to the freezer. ;)

Making it a point to do fun things sounds so sad, but I feel like our days fill up so fast with dishes, naps, diaper & outfit changes, cleaning up after Evie, and I don’t even know what else, that it’s hard to do things “out of the ordinary”!

I used to have a rolling list in my head of things I need/ want to get done, and would usually be able to keep track of it all. NOW, I’ll suddenly realize, I meant to do that task 3 weeks ago! How did my mental note fail me?!  Probably because my mental energy got sucked out by the little humans running around. Ever feel like that?

***

image8-20060527140102

Evie’s 2nd birthday is coming up in August and I’d like to get her some more books but need some suggestions. Any recommendations? The Jolly Postman is so cute and I think she’d enjoy it, but I feel it would have a very short shelf-life.

***

I’m not even sure what this movie is about, but this tune from Pitch Perfect is so darn catchy:

***

One of my sister’s good friends recently learned her baby (due in October) has a serious heart defect. She and her husband were in Rome working with the University of Dallas but have moved back to the states, as the baby will need immediate surgery as soon as she’s born. You can follow their blog here. And please keep them in your prayers! They’re praying for a miracle through Bl. JPII’s intercession.

***

Since news travels fast in Catholic circles, this might be so last week, BUT last Monday around 900 people contacted the parish near us wanting to adopt a baby with Down Syndrome who was going to be aborted if no family could be immediately found to adopt him/her. Isn’t that incredible?

The above link is from the Washington Times, and here’s another article from Lifesite News.

