Tags

, ,

7_quick_takes_sm1

1.

This past Saturday morning a couple of friends and I met at half past 6 o’clock in the AM to bargain hunt at a large rummage/ yard sale. I’d heard about this monthly sale from a patient at work who recommended getting there at 6:30 to get in line (it usually starts at 8:30!). Thankfully they let us right in as it was a rainy morning, and so began our initiation into the world of this particular second-hand sale.

WOW.

At the door we were handed large trash bags to stash our finds in and were set free into the large converted barn full of STUFF. Many people were already inside, and it took me several minutes to realize the name of the game was “grab and stash”- I noticed people raking toys off of shelves and bins of clothing into their bags (there’s a set price at this sale for a bag of clothing, so you might end up only paying pennies per piece).

  After about an hour of surviving cramped spaces and some elbowing by eager shoppers, the three of us checked out. Whew!

2.

Here are some of my favorite finds:

DSC_5752

Books for the girls

Books for the girls

This wool blazer came with a pencil skirt and, from what info I can gather online, is from the ’70s! Groovy.
DSC_5754 DSC_5756

3.

So, I also found a black pencil skirt (worn here) which I’m really excited about- my body changed a lot after this last pregnancy, and I didn’t think I could find a pencil skirt that would work for me, but this non-stretchy material does the trick. Anyways, according to Cori, pencil skirts are a versatile closet staple.  For reals? 

My problem is, I’m not great about finding ways to wear them other than pairing them with cardigans or pullover sweaters- basically church attire. I tried this combo out and like it:CSC_5788

But I’d feel too fancy for grocery store runs and I wouldn’t wear it to mass. I guess I’d wear it for a date night, but those are few and far between. Any other women out there have difficulty dressing down skirts or dresses?

4.

Saturday night my SIL texted me saying she had an extra ticket to the Zac Brown Band concert Sunday night since her friend got sick, and would I like to come? I have to say my top 3 choices for a concert to attend would be Darius Rucker, The Band Perry, and ZBB – so after conferring with Tim, I told her absolutely YES!

He was my hero for letting me go and for taking care of our girls.

5.

My little Pantech camera phone was no match for the bright, distant concert display as evidenced by the photos below:

DSC_5763

CSC_5765

The man himself.

But no matter, because the music was superb!

6.

I recently came across this great quote on motherhood by G.K. Chesterton. Read it:

“To be Queen Elizabeth within a definite area, deciding sales, banquets, labours, and holidays; to be Whitely within a certain area, providing toys, boots, cakes and books; to be Aristotle within a certain area, teaching morals, manners, theology, and hygiene; I can imagine how this can exhaust the mind, but I cannot imagine how it could narrow it. How can it be a large career to tell other people about the Rule of Three, and a small career to tell one’s own children about the universe? How can it be broad to be the same thing to everyone and narrow to be everything to someone? No, a woman’s function is laborious, but because it is gigantic, not because it is minute.”

G.K is the man.

7.DSC_5771

I’m throwing out an extra enthusiastic TGIF!! today, as Tim has been out of town since Tuesday and gets back this afternoon! We survived no doubt in part to my mom and sister who graciously lent me several hands.

Head over to Jen’s for more takes, and have a good weekend!

