Tags

,

This past weekend my sister and I made a whirlwind trip to Bethlehem, PA, and oh it was a nice little breather. A few months ago when Tim was away for work I was feelin’ an acute need for a little getaway of my own, so when he so kindly offered to let me go somewhere by myself I could have cried tears of joy.

Soon after, my sister sent me an email saying in December she was planning to go to Las Vegas for a work conference, and would I like to come with her? Vegas was not on my list of places I would love to see, but I replied “Absolutely yes!” since it was A place to go. Long story short, after much discussion we decided it would be much more economical to go someplace within driving distance, and more fun to find a place all decked out for Christmas. Hence how we ended up in Bethlehem, PA.

We drove up early Friday and came back late Saturday afternoon which was a perfect window of away time for me, as being away from the girls too long would have stressed me out!

When we arrived we immediately poked our noses into many of the cute shops along Main Street. I wish I had taken some pictures, as our next stop was drastically different…
DSC_6453

Right next to this:DSC_6452

Close-up of the cheery windows:DSC_6451

One of the big draws to Bethlehem at Christmastime is the extensive Christkindlmarkt (I guess I should divulge that a “getaway” to me involves shopping and some form of pampering). After some missed turns and a constant slew of “no left turn” signs (what’s with that?!) we finally found the market which is situated right smack in the middle of abandoned steel stacks.

DSC_6454

Happy that the market does, in fact, exist!

1472849_721928089610_454244284_n

It rained all that first day, but the Christmas lights made everything look glowy.

DSC_6457

We spent the rest of the evening perusing more of the Main Street shops, dodging the rain, and eating delish food.

DSC_6471

This charming book shop we found reminded us of “You’ve Got Mail”.

DSC_6470

DSC_6474

Hotel Bethlehem lobby

I loved the B&B we stayed at- it’s a converted mansion, and was beautifully decorated. I think it had about 15 rooms, and I especially liked that it was still cozy without feeling like we were two of a few guests- I’m not really one to chat with strangers during breakfast. ;)
DSC_6461 DSC_6469 DSC_6466 1476249_721928229330_526237954_n

DSC_6479

Does this scene bring back memories to any FUS alum? :)

DSC_6480 DSC_6478 A stop on the way out of town for pedicures completed the trip, and now I am ready to continue Advent with renewed gusto. :)

