Tags

, , ,

7_quick_takes_sm1

1.

How’s this for a break your heart moment? Evie was crying for a good while after I put her down for a nap; I was going to let her cry it out but when she started calling, “Mommy! Mommy!” over and over I got up in a huff to give her a firm, “This is nap time. Time to go to sleep.” spiel. Well, in between sobs she managed to tell me, “Evie’s crying because of da beeee!” and “Puppy is sad because of da beee!”. I, of course, was clueless as to what she was talking about but asked her to show me. She pointed to her pink stuffed puppy…who had one of those stink bugs crawling on it. She told me it landed on her and scared her, then landed on her puppy which “made puppy sad”. My hardened heart melted right there.

I assured her it won’t bother her anymore, and now she’s lying in bed happily singing her ABCs. I love that kid.

Stink bug

One of those stinking offenders

2.

Lately I feel I’ve been in a huge style rut. I’m tired of my sweaters  and boots but unwilling to freeze in my cardigans and other “springy” tops. Also, my hair. It’s going on 5 or 6 months without a cut and with straight hair the ends become rather unsightly pretty fast, so messy bun is the order of the day, every day. *Sigh*

The Princess Diaries

Princess Mia knows how it is.

3.

However, there is a ray of sunshine on the weather front that I have discovered! Have you heard of Accuweather.com? Well, they provide a 45 DAY FORECAST! Oh, I know the weather reports change minute to minute, but since it’s in the 30s today I can’t tell you how comforting it is to know that on March 20th the weather men are predicting 70 degrees and sunny! I guess I’m not living in Narnia where it is always winter!

4.

Lent

Was this so 2 years ago?

The past few weeks I’ve come across many, many good (and humorous) posts about Lent on the blogosphere. I have to say, though, I felt quite daunted, just as Jenn says, at the thought of what to give up for Lent this year, so when I read her post I knew it was exactly what I needed to read.

Every Lent I’m in a different place and therefore need to prayerfully find various ways to challenge myself spiritually. And that is a wonderful thing about Lent, isn’t it? We’re all spending the same 40 days preparing for Easter by prayer, fasting, and almsgiving, but each in our own way.

5.

I don’t mean to go into a big breakdown of what I’m working on or abstaining from this Lent, but just wanted to share a book I’ve been reading (um, off and on for 2 years) in case anyone is looking for a good spiritual read:

he leadeth me

I have zero brain power right now, so I’ll just share a blurb about it taken from Amazon:

“…the deeply moving personal story of one man’s spiritual odyssey and the unflagging faith which enabled him to survive the horrendous ordeal that wrenched his body and spirit to near collapse. Captured by the Russian army during World War II and convicted of being a “Vatican spy,” American Jesuit Father Walter J. Ciszek spent some 23 agonizing years in Soviet prisons and the labor camps of Siberia.”

6.

When I was in 7th grade a beloved teacher and basketball coach at our school was diagnosed with lung cancer sometime in the middle of the year and passed away early that June. A couple of times after his diagnosis he addressed the entire school and shared what God had been teaching him during this ordeal, as well as things that had helped him carry this cross. “He Leadeth Me” was something he highly recommended we all read…and I am determined to finish it this Lent!

7.

 I know Mardi Gras has passed but it’s the last take and I have nothin’. So here you go:

Fat Tuesday

via Catholic Memes

Thanks to Francine for sharing!

More takes over at Jen’s. Happy weekend!

