Tags

, , , ,

Do you think that, speaking in terms of maternity style, maxi dresses are the modern response to the, um, maternity tent-like dresses of the ’80s?

Princess Diana - 1982

via

It’s not your fault, Princess Di. It was the 80s.

via

Oh my.

via

I’d say styles have improved a bit, wouldn’t you?

DSC_9045

Some hi-lo action going on at the hemline, but at least it fits!

This summer I really wanted to find a non-maternity maxi that would work during pregnancy, too. I love maxis for their comfort, non-clingy-ness, and versatility. After trying on a couple of downright misses, I was really happy to find this maxi at Kohls with a higher elastic waist. Trying it on in the store was a big plus, since it was hard to gauge online if a waist was high enough to work with the bump!

-I’ve also been wearing this maxi a lot, too. Jersey knit, how I love you.

-This grey tee (Liz Lange from Gabes, I think?) has been one of my summer staples but is definitely a leetle on the snug side. Using a clear hair-tie I was able to “knot” it over a dress and eek a little more use out of it.

-I have my eye on this heather grey t-shirt from Everlane for the fall.DSC_9072

– I know I mentioned my love of button-down shirts before, but they’ve come in quite handy for Sunday outfits when I can’t get any cardigans to look right over my spaghetti-strap dresses.

IMAG0450-Other than that I’ve been living in tees and shorts- which do feel a little *yawn* at times; I’d like to try layering like this (or with scarves or light cardis):

summer maternity

But with our weather in the high 80s/ 90s with days of one zillion percent humidity, there.is.no.way.

-I think these wedge sandals or maybe this cute pair would work for everyday wear, and give a little extra pizzazz to a shorts and tee outfit; I really don’t *need* any new sandals, though, so maybe next summer…

-I’ve pretty much been living in these pink H&M shorts, linen-cotton shorts from Gap (love,love,love), and Old Navy jean shorts– with the past 2 pregnancies I steered clear of low-panel bottoms since I was forever pulling them back up, but I gave this ON pair a try and have to say the panel works better than the ones I tried a few years ago.

– Gap was a little disappointing, with several of their shirts receiving poor ratings with similar negative comments all around. However, I have nothing but high praises to sing about this tee from Gap- so very comfortable, and the best part about it is the lack of ruching on the sides! Any thoughts on maternity lines from the above stores? I feel like some are hit or miss, but maybe that’s just me?

– A few other maternity t-shirts from Old Navy complete my wardrobe staples for now. BTW- a plus to shopping in-store for Old Navy is that you can find great deals on clothes that were ordered on-line but returned to the store!

