Tags

,

Hi there, I hope you had a Merry Christmas! Forgive the randomness of this post but it has been delayed since, oh- November, so I’m just going to pound it out before another month passes! I wanted to write a post looking back on the past 6 months of books I’ve read, and now it’s more like 7 months…but hey, who’s counting?

As you can see there’s a pretty slim range here. I’ve come to realize that my book preferences lie mainly with foodie memoirs and chick lit. Engrossing, quick reads- that’s how I roll. :)

Vintage Ads for Libraries and Reading | Brain Pickingsimage

Dad Is Fat– This one I’d put on a virtual bookshelf entitled “It’s not you, it’s me.” Some of the material in Jim Gaffigan’s shows on Netflix made me laugh so hard I cried but for some reason this book maybe gave me a chuckle at best. Everyone I heard from said this book was hilarious, but for some reason I didn’t LOVE it. I kept waiting to crack up while reading it but…nothing. I guess written humor just isn’t my thing.

When In Doubt, Add Butter– Enjoyable chick-lit/ foodie combo; easy, fiction read.

He Leadeth Me- This took me a long time to read, although I finally finished it! It is such a great book and I like that it’s sort of a memoir and spiritual read in one. I would also recommend Fr. Ciszek’s other book, With God in Russia.

AttachmentsEnjoyable chick-lit read. I’ve heard this one by Rainbow Rowell is also good- have you read it?

Forever with You– 2nd latest book from a Christian author whose books I’ve been reading since high school. Modern Mrs. Darcy even listed two of the characters as one of her favorite fictional couples!

The Longest Ride- Meh. I’ve read a fair amount of Nicholas Sparks and there’s only a few that I like, but I have this compulsion to read every new one he comes out with. The characters in this one seemed to be the same as many of his other books- a loner guy full of charm who falls for the cute, vivacious, talented girl oblivious to the other guys all falling for her.

Code Name Verity– Another one for the “It’s not you, it’s me” shelf. Highly recommended on the ‘net but I was slogging through it (found it a little boring)- I’d say it got interesting for me about 3/4 of the way through.

The One and Only- I like Emily Giffin’s chick lit books, but this one? I could not stop rolling my eyes. I think the main issue (for me) was that I had an idea in my mind about the characters’ ages/ personalities from the first several pages that didn’t match up to the rest of the book but I couldn’t get past my initial perceptions (does that make sense?).

The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Society– Fun, easy read. I loved the format of letters sent back and forth.

Something Other Than God-  I don’t think there’s anything I can say that hasn’t already been said about Jen’s awesome memoir, so I’ll just say- I loved it!

Bread and Wine: A Love Letter to Life Around the Table with Recipes– I savored every page of this book- well-written and interesting, relatable author, and many recipes I can’t wait to try.

The Secret KeeperThere was a point when I thought this was going to turn into a psychological thriller but a surprising twist explained everything. :)

Comfort Me with ApplesAnother enjoyable foodie-esque read (but I think this one by Ruth Reichl is my favorite).

84, Charing Cross RoadSimilar to Guernsey above, this one is written in a letter format. It’s short and entertaining (the movie is good, too)- I only wished it was longer!

IMAG1072

Have you read anything good lately? I’m looking forward to starting 2015 with this and this– and I’m hoping to log more reading hours this coming year!

 

 

 

 

 

