Tags

, ,

Audrey turned two on Sunday and thankfully we were able to squeeze in a party for her amid the flurry of holiday activities! Since she’s the middle child I really wanted to do something with my family to celebrate her birthday.

There was such a beautiful sunrise to start the day.DSC_1199

CSC_1276

I wanted to do a Land of Sweets theme from The Nutcracker and since we had all our Christmas decorations out I didn’t have much prepping to do. Christmas decorations FTW!DSC_1200 DSC_1206

DSC_1211

We used our favorite catering company for the food; You might have heard of it before- Costco. ;)DSC_1215

I thought it would be fun for the kids to make gingerbread houses during the party.

There’s a country market in the area that has all kinds of old-fashioned candy. Every time I would go there I’d think what a great place it would be to buy candy for gingerbread house making, so that’s where I went for most of it!DSC_1237

The oldest cousin is 7 and the youngest ambulatory kiddo is 21 months, so I now realize gingerbread house making *might* not have been the best activity choice, but the adults were kind enough to go along with my crazy idea and pitched right in to help.
DSC_1242Audrey’s was the first house I started icing and by the end of the house-making it was more like a gingerbread lean-to but she didn’t seem to mind at all. Bless her.DSC_1245

And how cool is this Lego candy?!DSC_1243

Even the brother’s in law got into the fun, helping with graham cracker wall construction, and making batches of icing.

DSC_1236

Candles

The weather that day turned out to be pretty mild so the kids all enjoyed some outside play.

DSC_1235 DSC_1221

The picture below is pretty descriptive of Audrey. She’s such a sweet little girl who knows what she wants, loves accessorizing (notice she’s wearing her rosary), and pink or purple anything! She was insistent on wearing her pink shoes that day but we could only find one of them- so she wore that one. :) When you ask her her age she’ll say she’s three. She always wants to do anything her big sister is doing, and looks forward to taking Evie to school every week.

One of my favorite things right now is how she says “Fw” instead “S” in a lot of words- “Fwing, Fweep, Fweata (sweater)”… One morning I went in to get her out of her crib and she was in a really grumpy mood. She was upset that I wasn’t Tim so she just grumbled something followed by, “I fweep.” as she pulled her blanket over her. She also likes to tell us, “I’m a pwincess.” She sure is. Happy 2nd Birthday to our little princess!

DSC_1230

