Tags

, ,

We haven’t been to any of the Triduum liturgies since having kids, but every year we try to make it to the Franciscan Monastery in D.C. on Good Friday. My family goes every year as a tradition, and it’s one my siblings and I try to keep up with our families. I LOVE coming here on Good Friday- there are replicas of holy sites from the Holy Land inside the church as well as a life-size Crucifixion scene. They offer confessions (great those of us guilty of procrastinating in that regard during Lent…) and we usually do the outdoor stations of the cross walk. The grounds are beautiful, although not as many flowers were in bloom this year with Easter being on the early side. One thing I always forget is how far a drive it is- it takes almost 40 minutes to get there once you reach the D.C. line(!!)- but for once a year it’s doable. :)

Throwback of some older siblings…the Monastery hasn’t changed much but strollers definitely have.

IMAG1411

All the kids were excited about the “mom-astery”

 This year it rained off and on but we were still able to say The Stations outside.

IMAG1409 IMAG1408

After naps on Holy Saturday we went to my parent’s house for egg dyeing with cousins.

I have a little bit of grey hair from that event (No, we really DO NOT drink the dye) but thankfully there were no major catastrophes.

We attended 7:30 mass on Easter morning and then hosted family brunch at our house afterwards. Okay- holiday family photos just elude me year after year. Even though we were pressed for time, this year I started snapping phone photos of the girls as we were getting ready just to document something. I figure since I put time and effort into getting their Easter outfits together I should at least record them for posterity’s sake!

IMAG1417

Quick, they are dressed and they are together- take a photo!

DSC_1667DSC_1740

Another family tradition is our Easter breakfast food (food is serious business)- every year we have kielbasa, horseradish, breads from a German bakery in the area, fruit salad, pastries, and eggs (obv.). This year we also had Quiche, cinnamon rolls, and more delicious things made of butter, flour and sugar…I was in a food coma by the afternoon- is death by carbs a thing? DSC_1776 DSC_1743 DSC_1751 DSC_1783DSC_1798The weather was warm so the kids were all rejoicing that they could play outside- in between bites of food, of course!

That evening we enjoyed Easter dinner at my parent’s house followed by and egg hunt.DSC_1809 DSC_1814 DSC_1817

It was a wonderful day and I’m glad for time spent with family. Last year we were preparing to put our shoe-box house on the market Easter Friday and I was pregnant with Heidi- I am grateful for where we are now.

Padre Pio. My past, O Lord, to your mercy; my present, to your love; my future, to your providence!

image

Happy Easter, one and all. :)

