Tags

, , ,

In the past twenty-four hours I have read several Facebook posts or linked-to articles on the SCOTUS decision that (I felt) explained very succinctly, rationally, charitably, and in an approachable manner why the writer disagreed with the decision.

And every post had the same types of responses from those who celebrated the decision of SCOTUS.

Sorry, but nope.

I do have Agape love and I disagree with you.

Nope. Your Catholic beliefs don’t apply to me.

I plead Separation of Church and State.

Gay marriage has nothing to do with religion.

My FB feed is aglow with profile pictures overlaid with rainbows, and my WordPress account sprouted a rainbow header sometime yesterday (something comes to mind about imposing one’s beliefs on others, but I digress…). Also, my naive self never realized how many people have a problem with religion period. Forget freedom of religion, society has proclaimed loud and clear that it wants freedom from religion.

It makes me want to pull my sad mop of hair out. If those with the gift of words, who articulate the truth so well in their writing, will not be heard (and I know the internet is not the ideal place for intense discussion much less debate but…), or cannot even engage in a reasonable discussion because others are on a completely different wavelength, then where does that leave people like me?

Edmund Burke’s quote comes to mind: “The only thing necessary for the triumph of evil is for good men to do nothing.”

So how do I do…something?

Jenny linked to a well-written article by George Weigel and this thought of his really struck me:

“From the Catholic point of view, the only possible response to the New Normal is a robustly evangelical Catholicism: one that displays true happiness in lives of solidarity with others; one that links that happiness and solidarity to friendship with Jesus Christ and the truths his Church teaches, inviting others to consider “a still more excellent way” [1 Corinthians 12.31].”

St. Francis of Assisi is quoted as saying, “Preach the gospel at all times and when necessary use words”. So that’s what I feel I can and must do- be a living witness with my little family, in our little corner of the US of A. I’ll strive to live out my faith and leave the rest to God.
Awake my soul

 

