Tags

, ,

Just an update post about what books have been on my shelf lately…

The Nesting Place This sat on my shelf for a year before I opened it up, as I wasn’t feeling a big inspired itch to redecorate, plus I felt I had zero mental energy to exert in that area, BUT I wish I had picked it up sooner since it was such a good and easy read! I appreciated lots of Myquillyn Smith’s advice and simple ideas for making a home on a budget. {Meaning to read book for MMD challenge}

The Lake House- I was sneak reading this one every chance I got and ended up finishing this faster than any other book this year. I found the back and forth between time periods and characters made for a slow start (lots of story to get through before any information pertaining to the mysterious events was divulged) but I really liked it overall; it’s my favorite of the two Kate Morton’s I’ve read (other one being The Secret Keeper).

As If!: The Oral History of Clueless as told by Amy Heckerling and the Cast and Crew- Although I’m a fan of the movie Clueless, I didn’t find this wildly interesting…mostly lots of interview comments from the actors and film crew on how great making the movie was. I think my favorite fact it offered was that Alicia Silverstone mispronounced “Haitians” on accident during that scene’s first take and it was so perfect it was kept in the movie. :)

Tender at the Bone- Garlic and Sapphires is still my favorite of Ruth Reichl’s books (I think mostly because of the time in her life she touches on) but I enjoyed this right along with her others. I also can’t get enough of foodie memoirs!

Being Mortal: Medicine and What Matters in the End- I’ll admit the beginning of this absolutely depressed me, as the author begins the book by discussing how we age and what those years look like for most Americans (not great). But about a quarter of the way through it I was ready to launch a second career revamping and revitalizing nursing homes and assisted living facilities- he’s researched some amazing examples of thriving facilities that have gone against the grain. This book has so much food for thought about caregivers, end of life decisions, and making the most out of one’s final days/months. I loved it!

Four Seasons in Rome: On Twins, Insomnia, and the Biggest Funeral in the History of the WorldWith descriptions of life in Rome and a recounting of the city buzz during JPII’s final days and funeral, what’s not to love about this book? Towards the end I wasn’t feeling the journal-style so much but overall an enjoyable read for me!

The Incorruptibles: A Study of the Incorruption of the Bodies of Various Catholic Saints and Beati After two years of reading this in bits and pieces I tried to make it a point this Lent to read from it everyday. Incorrupt Saints have always fascinated me; I wish the book had been updated to include other Saint/ Beati bodies have been found to be incorrupt in the last thirty to forty years. Also, better pictures! I mentioned to Tim at one point how the body of one of the saints moved into a sitting position after death and he commented, “Wow, God, that’s a bit macabre.” Yes. I guess incorrupt bodies very much proclaim, “O death where is thy sting?”.

Lost Washington, D.C.  This hit my nostalgic bone big time- as historic as D.C. is I was surprised and a bit disappointed to learn how many other (and older!) historic buildings have been razed since the founding of the city. There’s a lot of  really interesting “Lost History” there. {Could finish in a day book for MMD challenge}

Next I’m trying to come up with easy to read titles for after the baby comes (like chick lit and chick lit ;). Anything good you’ve read lately??

 

